Hog Plum

21 Sep

This large Hog Plum tree was found along a trail at Canaveral National Seashore. I had never seen a Hog Plum before and at first thought it was a large kumquat! On further inspection I noticed the golf ball sized fruits were plums. I found one that was ripe & took a taste of the orange-colored plum. It was really good – smooth, creamy and mellow with a slight tang. The plant does have rather large thorns – so be careful when picking fruits.

Hog Plum - Ximenia americana

3 Responses to “Hog Plum”

  1. Kathy adams June 27, 2011 at 9:54 pm #

    I’m glad I found this post, I haven’t saw one of those plants in years.

    • jimmy May 12, 2015 at 11:42 am #

      my grandma use to make the best hog plum jelly, just the thought of this great jelly with its tangy taste makes me hungry! This and some big fluffy biscuits would be great.

      • FlaScenics May 12, 2015 at 1:37 pm #

        Never had jelly, but the plums were tasty by themselves!

Leave a Reply

