Horrible Thistle

14 Aug

Purple Thistles can be found growing on roadsides, old fields and disturbed areas. The leaves are very prickly as you can see in the photo. When blooming it is a favorite for butterflies and insects. The butterfly shown here is a gulf fritillary.

Horrible Thistle - Cirsium horridulum

2 Responses to “Horrible Thistle”

  1. Shellbelle August 22, 2010 at 8:33 am #

    Hi, I dropped in after seeing you featured on The Florida Blogger. Love that your posting about Florida natives, there are so many! About 5 months ago I moved from the Gulf Coast to Coastal Georgia and the closest beach to me is Fernandina. I posted a photo of this plant after finding one growing on the beach and ask my readers to help me identify it. Someone did and said its seeds spread in the wind and that’s probably why I found it on the Atlantic. Very interesting plant.

    • FlaScenics August 22, 2010 at 9:17 am #

      The horrible thistle’s name makes it sound like such a beast, but the flowers are so pretty and attracts just as pretty butterflies.
      Thanks for visiting my blog!

Leave a Reply

