Coral Vine

2 Jul

Coral Vine is not a native plant and is listed as a Category II invasive exotic. It is a beautiful flowering vine, but it is best to not let it grow in your garden. It seeds readily and also spreads by underground tubers. This photo was taken in a local park and the vine was smothering some other plants.

Coral Vine - Antigonon leptopus

2 Responses to “Coral Vine”

  1. Katie August 19, 2010 at 1:26 pm #

    Ugh, I’ve been trying to figure out what’s invading my backyard. I don’t know how to get rid of it since I share a tree canopy with all my neighbors and it’s basically just growing over everything. I pull it off what I can, but my oak tree? There’s no way..

    At least the bees like it, I guess.

    • FlaScenics August 19, 2010 at 2:25 pm #

      Hi Katie –
      Well I guess it could be worse – you could have poison Ivy or something with thorns!
      On the bright side at least it is pretty in pink!

Leave a Reply

